We use cookies

We use cookies to analyse data about our visitors, to improve our website, to display personalised content and to give you a great website experience.

Detailed settingsCookie policy

Cookie settings

We use cookies to analyse data about our visitors, to improve our website, to display personalised content and to give you a great website experience. Cookie policy

Functional cookies
Analytical cookies
12/7/2020, 7:30 p.m.

Marco ArmiliatoMozart | Beethoven

Simona Šaturová — soprano
Boris Prýgl bass-baritone
Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno
PKF – Prague Philharmonia
Marco Armiliato 
— conductor

The famous Italian conductor Marco Armiliato first performed in Prague on July 10, 2015 thanks to the Nachtigall Artists agency – at the concert of the quartet of the most famous opera stars led by Anna Netrebko. He is a sought-after guest of the world's most prestigious opera stages. Since his debut at the Metropolitan Opera in 1998, Marco Armiliato has become one of the Met's true conducting fixtures. In 2012 he set a record at the Metropolitan Opera by conducting six operas in six days. Per Opera News, he has two qualities essential to a good maestro – a desire to serve the composer and a great love of singers.

Marco Armiliato will return to Prague in December this year, this time performing with PKF – Prague Philharmonia, and renowned Czech soloists, frequent guests of Nachtigall Artists concerts: soprano Simona Šaturová and bass-baritone Boris Prýgl. Simona Houda-Šaturová became famous as a Mozart singer and performer of operas of the Italian bel canto period. Recently, she has celebrated success at the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels in Mozart's trilogy, in which she sang Donna Anna and made her debut as the Countess. She has also performed at festivals in Tanglewood and Salzburg, collaborated with the Boston Symphony Orchestra or the Orchestre National de Paris. Boris Prýgl has been a soloist at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich since the 2019/20 season, and in April 2021 he will make his debut at the Vienna State Opera in the role of Valentin (Faust).

Both soloists will perform together in Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II, which Ludwig van Beethoven composed at his tender age of 17. The lesser-known composition of the Viennese Maestro will follow by his extremely popular Symphony No. 7. The Overture to Mozart's La clemenza di Tito about the Roman emperor Titus Vespasian, which Mozart composed for the coronation of Joseph II’s brother – Leopold II, as the Czech king, will take us into the imperial world.

Concert in collaboration with PKF – Prague Philharmonia.



La clemenza di Tito
overture to the opera, KV 621

Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II, WoO 87
1. Coro. Largo – Larghetto
2. Recitativo. Presto
3. Aria. Allegro maestoso – Allegro assai
4. Aria con Coro. Andante con moto
5. Recitativo. Largo
6. Aria. Adagio con affetto
7. Coro. Largo – Larghetto

Symphony No 7 in A major, Op. 92
Poco sostenuto – Vivace
Presto – Assai meno presto
Allegro con brio

Program is subject to change

Project partners

Hlavní město Praha
Nadace ČEZ
Wine Food Market
Obecní dům Praha
Italský kulturní institut Praha
PKF – Prague Philharmonia